Why I love… Keep Calm & Carry On

Most of us at some point would have chanced upon the Keep Calm and Carry On poster.

No? I mean this:

A little background, courtesy WikipediaKeep Calm and Carry On was a poster produced by the British government in 1939 during the beginning of the Second World War, intended to raise the morale of the British public under the threat of impending invasion.

It was little known and never used. The poster was rediscovered in 2000 and was then re-issued by a number of private sector companies, and used as the decorative theme for a range of products.  There are only two known surviving examples of the poster outside of government archives.

It’s been one of those things that I saw and fell in love with at once. I loved the simplicity. The stunning red and bold type, and most of all, this utterly simple and dignified message that was the very embodiment of what it conveyed. It is to me, an iconic piece of design that lends itself to variations and personalizations that have since, exploded all over the internet. I’ve been delighted by the parodies, of which there have been several, ranging from the clever, to the somewhat funny and borderline retarded, not to mention grammatically questionable.

I am tired of rambling. This is the real reason for this post:

There are more. I will be uploading up shortly. And yes, you’re welcome to download them. Just be nice and don’t forget to give credit where credit is due.

p.s. If you are one of those, “I want to do my own spoofs and dazzle the world too!”, quit whining and go here.

One thought on “Why I love… Keep Calm & Carry On

Leave a Reply

