I live in poetry when I live in love with you

 


And try as I might (and will), I will not find home nor the peace that comes with it until I have you ensconced in my arms again. I wait and yet, try not to live as though in wait. I live; perhaps I only exist and I continue only because there is the promise of tomorrow and with it, of you.

I believe you are mine and belong wholly to me. I believe it is only a matter of time before faith ripens into fact.

I believe, my love, because I know no other way.

‘… my dear love
I will not sleep without eyes,
I will not exist but in your gaze.’

*all excerpts taken from the poems of Pablo Neruda

4 thoughts on “I live in poetry when I live in love with you

    1. They do, don’t they? He’s a man after my own heart. But then there is Rilke, and that is a man after my very soul. Ever read him?

Leave a Reply

